top of page

General information about Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan is situated in Central Asia, deep in Eurasia. The territory is 2,724,900 square kilometers (1,049,150 square miles). Kazakhstan takes the 9th place in the world in terms of territory, after Russia, China, USA, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, India and Australia; it is the CIS second largest country. Kazakhstan borders on China - 1,460 kilometers, Kyrgyzstan - 930 kilometers, Turkmenistan - 380 kilometers, Uzbekistan - 2,300 kilometers, Russian Federation -6,467 kilometers. The total length of the borders is 12,187 kilometers.

The capital is Astana (since December 10, 1997). Its population is 743 thousand.

There are 14 regions and 2 cities of the republican status, 84 towns, 39 of them are under regional jurisdiction, 159 districts, 241 small towns 2,042 aul (rural) districts in Kazakhstan.

The state language is Kazakh, the Russian language is officially used in public organizations and local government institutions along with Kazakh.

The Independence Day, a national holiday, is December 16.

The currency is the tenge, 1 tenge = 100 tiyns. It was instituted on November 15, 1993.

The Republic of Kazakhstan is a unitary state with presidential government.

The head of state is President Kasym-Joomart Tokaev (since 2019).

Governmental power in Kazakhstan is unified and it includes legislative power exercised by the Parliament, executive power exercised by the Government consisting of central authorities (Ministries, Institutions and Agencies) and local bodies (akimats) and judicial power, which is exercised by state courts (the Supreme Court and local courts).

The single source of state power is its nation.

The underlying principles ot the republic's activity are public consent and political stability, economic development for the good of the people, patriotism, democratic political decision-making, including elections at a republic-wide referendum or in the Parliament.

The state and private property are equally protected in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Kazakhstan possesses different natural resources. Out of 105 elements of Mendeleyev's table, 99 elements were found in the depth of Kazakhstan's earth, reserves of 70 elements were explored and more than 60 elements are used in production.

The location of Kazakhstan in the center of the Eurasian continent predetermines its significant transport and communication potential in transportation area, which is of special interest for many countries all over the world.

The republic's transport and communication complex is represented by railway, air, marine, river, pipeline transport, network of motor roads and telecommunication systems.

In terms of administrative territorial division, it has 14 regions and 2 cities of the republican status, in terms of economic geography, Kazakhstan is divided into Central West, East, North and South regions.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page